Skip to content

Castle of Mey

June 18, 2013

Castle of Mey

We returned from Orkney to Gills Bay on the ferry. Yes, I did have to REVERSE on again! Not quite so bad this time as I just put my faith in the guys directing me on (not husband). It is an hours sail and the sea was a mill pond-lovely. We turned Damnvan1 right and drove along the coast of Caithness. A fab drive to an overnight stop at Thurso.
En route we visited the Castle of Mey which is a cute castle previously owned by the Queen’s Mother. She purchased the run down castle as a project when her husband King George died. It became a much loved family holiday home which Prince Charles still visits.
We ate in the newly built restaurant which was really good and I can recommend the rhubarb crumble.
We have completed nine weeks of our adventure and have something like four or five to go. We are both really enjoying ourselves.
CRAFTS
Still not a lot of crafting time but managed a bit of quilting. I’ve decided that this will will evolve rather than be planned due to the haphazard colour scheme. Well there. Won’t be another like it.
I was delighted to book onto a quilt course at my favourite quilting shop Liberty Bell Chester. This is where I started quilting http://www.liberty-bell.co.uk. I will look forward to this when we get home, the fact it is a course makes me work at completion so job done.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

